Thursday, January 18, 2018

Blog Tour: Breaking the Ice - Julie Cross















Breaking the Ice
Julie Cross
Series: Juniper Falls, #2
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Goodreads
The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kennealy and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: Chaotic Good - Whitney Gardner

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner!

Chaotic Good
Whitney Gardner
Series: n/a
Release Date: March 13, 2018
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Waited on by: Sam
Cameron's cosplay--dressing like a fictional character--is finally starting to earn her attention--attention she hopes to use to get into the CalTech costume department for college. But when she wins a major competition, she inadvertently sets off a firestorm of angry comments from male fans.

When Cameron's family moves the summer before her senior year, she hopes to complete her costume portfolio in peace and quiet away from the abuse. Unfortunately, the only comic shop in town--her main destination for character reference--is staffed by a dudebro owner who challenges every woman who comes into the shop.

At her twin brother's suggestion, Cameron borrows a set of his clothes and uses her costuming expertise to waltz into the shop as Boy Cameron, where she's shocked at how easily she's accepted into the nerd inner sanctum. Soon, Cameron finds herself drafted into a D&D campaign alongside the jerky shop-owner Brody, friendly (almost flirtatiously so) clerk Wyatt, handsome Lincoln, and her bro Cooper, dragged along for good measure.

But as her "secret identity" gets more and more entrenched, Cameron's portfolio falls by the wayside--and her feelings for Lincoln threaten to make a complicated situation even more precarious.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Goals

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

Book Goals!

It's that time of year! I recently reflected on my year in books, and of course, this also made me think about my 2018 book goals.

  1. Read my own books. Every year, I declare that I will show more shelf-love, yet out of the 352 books I read in 2017, only 25 were from my shelf. I really do own some great books, and I am hoping to read more of them this year. 

Monday, January 15, 2018

In a Nutshell Reviews

In a Nutshell Reviews are my version of mini-reviews, because sometimes, you just want the highlights.

Nice Try, Jane Sinner
Lianne Oelke
Series: n/a
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Clarion Books
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Goodreads
The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than failure is pity. After a personal crisis and her subsequent expulsion from high school, she’s going nowhere fast. Jane’s well-meaning parents push her to attend a high school completion program at the nearby Elbow River Community College, and she agrees, on one condition: she gets to move out.

Jane tackles her housing problem by signing up for House of Orange, a student-run reality show that is basically Big Brother, but for Elbow River Students. Living away from home, the chance to win a car (used, but whatever), and a campus full of people who don't know what she did in high school… what more could she want? Okay, maybe a family that understands why she’d rather turn to Freud than Jesus to make sense of her life, but she'll settle for fifteen minutes in the proverbial spotlight.

As House of Orange grows from a low-budget web series to a local TV show with fans and shoddy T-shirts, Jane finally has the chance to let her cynical, competitive nature thrive. She'll use her growing fan base, and whatever Intro to Psychology can teach her, to prove to the world—or at least viewers of substandard TV—that she has what it takes to win.

Sunday, January 14, 2018

Sundays with Sam - The Sunday Post

Sundays with Sam is a combination of Sunday Post hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer and Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga's Reviews.

My Week in Review

I think we had three different seasons this week, as the temperature rose and rose, hitting 65 on Friday! I slept with my window open in January. In NJ. This is not normal. I am pretty excited about the three day weekend. Seriously, last week was the first 5-day week I worked since October. It was tough.

Other than the mundane, I read a lot, and I finally watched Everything, Everything. I really enjoyed the film. The casting was excellent, and I must commend whoever scored the film. The musical choices were superb and perfectly set the mood for each scene.

Speaking of adaptations, I kept seeing the trailer for Forever My Girl on Goodreads, so I decided to listen to the audiobook. It's looks very Nicholas Sparks, but that is not necessarily a bad thing.